VDMA-Specifications on Functional Safety

MAN

Due to the fact that existing standards are either generic or address different target groups various experts met under the umbrella of VDMA with the goal to implement the new requirements for turbomachinery with regard to Functional Safety.

Turbomachinery in power plants and industrial plants has to meet high safety requirements. Given that there was recognised a tendency to apply more and more electric and electronic components in safety functions the necessity to develop standards for Functional Safety was identified.

Due to the fact that existing standards are either generic (IEC 61508) or address different target groups (IEC 61511 for process industry, IEC 62061 and ISO 13849 for machinery), experts of VDMA Members companies suported by experts from VGB, the leading technical association of European utilities, met under the umbrella of VDMA with the goal to implement the new requirements for turbomachinery with regard to Functional Safety.

The following VDMA Specifications were developed:

  • 4315-1 - Turbomachinery and generators – Application of the principles of functional safety - Part 1: Methods for determination of the necessary risk reductionMethods for determination of the necessary risk reduction
  • 4315-2 – Part 2: Risk assessment Existing installations
  • 4315-5 – Part 5: Risk assessment Steam Turbines
  • 4315-6 – Part 6: Risk assessment Gas Turbines
  • 4315-7 – Part 7: Risk assessment Compresor train
  • 4315-8 – Part 8: Risk assessment Generators


The VDMA-Specifications can be obtained from Beuth Verlag GmbH, Berlin (www.beuth.de)

VDMA-Einheitsblätter zur Funktionalen Sicherheit

MAN

Da bestehende Standards entweder zu allgemein sind oder andere Zielgruppen ansprechen, haben sich diverse Experten unter dem Dach des VDMA zusammengefunden, mit dem Ziel, neue Anforderungen an Turbomaschinen im Bereich der Funktionalen Sicherheit zu erarbeiten.

Turbomaschinen in Kraftwerken und industriellen Anlagen unterliegen sehr strengen Sicherheitsanforderungen. Die Tendenz zur vermehrten Anwendung elektrischer und elektronischer Komponenten in Sicherheitsfunktionen erforderte die Entwicklung von Standards zur Funktionalen Sicherheit.

Da bestehende Standards entweder zu allgemein sind (IEC 61508) oder andere Zielgruppen ansprechen (IEC 61511 für die Prozessindustrie, IEC 62061 und ISO 13849 für Maschinen), haben sich Experten aus den VDMA-Mitgliedsunternehmen und Experten des VGB, der Vereinigung der Großkraftwerksbereiber, und dem Dach des VDMA zusammengefunden, mit dem Ziel, neue Anforderungen an Turbomaschinen im Bereich der Funktionalen Sicherheit zu erarbeiten.

Die folgenden VDMA-Einheitsblätter wurden erarbeitet:

  • 4315-1 - Turbomaschinen und Generatoren – Anwendung der Prinzipien der Funktionalen Sicherheit - Teil 1: Verfahren zur Ermittlung der notwendigen Risikoreduktion
  • 4315-2 – Part 2: Risikobeurteilung Bestandsanlagen
  • 4315-5 – Part 5: Risikobeurteilung Dampfturbinen
  • 4315-6 – Part 6: Risikobeurteilung Gasturbinen
  • 4315-7 – Part 7: Risikobeurteilung Verdichterstrang
  • 4315-8 – Part 8: Risikobeurteilung Generatoren

 

Die VDMA-Einheitsblätter können beim Beuth Verlag GmbH, Berlin (www.beuth.de) bezogen werden.